Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,


So I give you this list of actors: Stanley Tucci, Kevin Spacey, Paul Bettany, Zachary Quinto, Demi Moore, Jeremy Irons, Simon Baker. I know, quite the cast list eh? Well that is what Margin Call has to offer. It is the story of a investment bank that is ruthless in business but is about to get a taste of its own medicine. It is discovered that the firm is about to go into financial meltdown and the story covers 24 hours in the early stages of this crisis.

I saw the trailer for this a few months ago and was blown away by the talent that is in it. I like every one of the actors in this small ensemble. The film is billed as a thriller, and I suppose it is. The thing is, nothing much really happens. It is a movie that deals with how these firms work in order to save their own necks and it shows how cut-throat that some of the senior executives will also be to get out of situations.

That said, despite the lack of major excitement in the movie, I liked it and found myself watching it completely undistracted. Its a strange film in this respect. You expect more, but when it doesn’t happen, you are still not that disappointed because the performances are top notch and for this alone its worth a watch. Its one to wait for on DVD though as its a limited cinema release and not here in the UK. I’ll give Margin Call a 6/10 and leave you with the trailer. You might like it so check it out at some point.

