Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Welcome along to another Tuesday Tunes. Each week I will post up a new subject involving music and all you have to do is post a comment in my blog or if you have your own blog, link back to my blog. I hope you enjoy it and join in. Leave your choices in the comments box below, thanks.

Guitar Solo

This one is easy. Give me some songs that you like that have the best guitar solos in them. Simples!
Now personally I coud go with every single Dreamtheater track, but I’m not going to, that would be far too easy. INstead I am going to start with Lynard Skynard’sFreebird“. I think that this is one of the finest examples of guitar mastery and it is often overlooked in countdowns. I think its worthy of of a top 10 place, so enjoy it in its glory at the end of this great tune.

Secondly is a song that takes me back to my childhood and sitting in my Dad’s car on numerous trips to town and back. The song used to last the length of the journey and this live version of “Sultans Of Swing” by Dire Straits from the Alchemy concert is just soooo much better than the studio original. I never did get around to learning how to play this one lol, sorry Dad.

Lastly, because I could go on all day with these, I think I will return to my younger days once more and give you possibly one of the greatest solos ever written for guitar. “Hotel California” by The Eagles. It is sheer genius and I cannot leave it out of this blog post. Written all the way back in 1976, the track showed the influence that new member Joe Walsh had on their music and the difference his joining the band made to their sound. A quality solo if ever I heard one.

So lets have your choices. Long or short, but they have to be GREAT! Remember to check other blogs and comment. Keep liking Smurfin’ The Web via the Facebook button on the right of this page, thanks.

