Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Welcome along to Monday’s Movie Meme. I post up a new subject involving movies and all you have to do is answer the question, post a comment in my blog or if you have your own blog, link back to my blog. I hope you enjoy it and join in. Leave your choices in the comments box below, thanks. Remember and visit other blogs =)

The Car’s The Star

Can you give me some movies that you like where a car is one of the central characters in the film. I think there is a lot of choice here and I’m going to steal one the obvious ones for myself. There are many more though.

Although the actual car that was released in the commercial sector was a huge failure, its presence in the Back To The Future trilogy ensured that the DeLorean will be remembered for all time in movie and automotive history. Its unique design with Flux Capacitor and of course the gull wing doors is instantly recognisable if seen and there are still a few going about after all this time. I would love to own one these, just for the nostalgia really, but I still they look great. No-one has ever managed to get the car up to its top speed of roughly 120mph though. 88 seems to be as far as it goes for some reason…

Secondly, one of my favourite films from the late 70s is Mad Max. Before he became “Walker” as sung at him by the kids who were obviously so annoying they were just abandoned, Max Rockatansky a hard man cop who is forced to drive his 1973 Ford Falcon Pursuit Special XB GT to get revenge on the motorcycle gang that killed his wife and child. I loved this car when I first saw it and there are many fans that create replicas around the world today as this example on the right shows. Would be better in matt black though I think…

Lastly from me, I think I’ll mention Christine. From the book of the same name written by Stephen King of course. The 1958 Plymouth Fury is a true masterpiece of motor engineering and chassis design and I do wish sometimes that cars looked like this today. I love this old 1950s style of car with the tail fins and bench seats, but they really are a relic of their age in a time that seems so distant now and very innocent, unlike the car in this movie…
So lets have your thoughts on this, I can think of at leat a half dozen more car stars of the movies, don’t forget to visit others’ blogs. Thanks for reading.

