Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

Welcome along to another Tuesday Tunes. Each week I will post up a new subject involving music and all you have to do is post a comment in my blog or if you have your own blog, link back to my blog. I hope you enjoy it and join in. Leave your choices in the comments box below, thanks.

What’s On The Box For Kids?

Last week I asked you what your favourite TV show theme tunes were. This week I ask you the same, but its all about the kids shows. Soooo many thousands to choose from I don’t know where to start! We have cartoons, puppets, CGI, claymation, educational and many more.

Well, I guess no collection is complete without good old Ulysses 31. A strange cartoon that never really seemed to have an ending, did they find what they were looking for to get everyone out of suspended animation (ho ho ho) or what?! apparently the BBC never showed the last episode, can you believe that? That was something I did not know, no wonder it feels like it never ended, lol. Here is the FULL track for your listening pleasure.

What else then? Well there was of course the wonderful Rainbow which I used to watch religiously every morning as a kid and who can forget the fact that Bungle always wore pyjamas to bed, but thought nothing of walking around all day naked. Hmm, a good example for our present day children? perhaps not. Here once again is the FULL version of the tune. Anyone played with Jane’s maracas recently?

Next is the worlds smallest hero, Dangermouse. Voiced by the ever popular David Jason, the one-eyed spy was ever present in my childhood and the tune was fast paced, and a good reflection of the actual cartoon. Of course the funny Penfold (whose eyebrows were strangely floating above his head rather than on his face!) would always manage to screw things things up a little more than was needed but good old DM would always save the day and defeat the evil Baron Silas Greenback…Oooo crumbs!

I think my favourite has to be Battle Of The Planets though. A Manga series from Japan, the violence was removed and a new character invented to fill in the time for the stuff that had been taken out, 7 Zark 7. I remember tying my top Parker jacket button round my neck and running around the playground so my coat flew out like one of the hero’s cloaks. The fight of course was who was going to be Mark, the leader. Good times, good times… A modern version had been in the pipeline for many years but it was announced earlier this year that it was no long going ahead, a true shame as from the clips available on YouTube, its looked fantastic. Anyway, here is the original I loved so much.

Lets hear about your memories and favourite kid’s TV theme tunes. Remember and LIKE Smurfin’ The Web on Facebook. Thanks for reading.

