Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Welcome along to Monday’s Movie Meme. This week it is actually the turn of Nicole at The Madlab Post, but it seems she is either too busy or has forgotten to get around to it. Thats ok, I’ll do it again no problem. I post up a new subject involving movies and all you have to do is answer the question, post a comment in my blog or if you have your own blog, link back to my blog. I hope you enjoy it and join in. Leave your choices in the comments box below, thanks. Remember and visit other blogs =)

Sports Jacket

This one is an easy one for you all to have a go at. What are some of your favourite movies where sport is the central storyline. This could be either playing it, watching it, or running it. I have a few good ones for you to kick us off.

Escape To Victory is one of my favourite football (soccer for all you Americans) films. I mean I like football, but its set during the Second World War which is an added bonus for me. A group of allied prisoners of war attempt to escape from captivity during the match they are participating in with the help of the French Resistance. Its just a great story and features some of the time’s best footballers, Bobby Moore, Pele, Osvaldo Ardiles and John Wark. As for acting talent, there is a wealth of that, Sylvester Stallone, Max von Sydow, Michael Caine to name but a few.

Next up is my favourite Rocky movie, Rocky IV. I just think its the best of the series. I liked the original that earned Sly Stallone an Oscar, but theres just something about the fourth film starring Dolph Lundgren as the antagonist Drago who uses the technology available to him in Russia to try and beat Rocky Balboa. Rocky of course away from home in the cold of Russia doesn’t have any of that and has to rely on using what is around him to get into shape. I think this movie features some of the best montages ever filmed and the epic boxing match climax to the film is pure cinema, but I love it.

Finally today, I will leave you with what in my opinion is the best sports movie ever made. Director John Frankenheimer and his crew were granted permission to follow an entire season of Formula 1 motor racing in order to film and get a complete sense of realism and accuracy for his 1966 movie Grand Prix. The movie stars James Garner who is fired from his F1 team following a harrowing accident at the Monaco Grand Prix that seriously injures his teammate. The story is an account of what follows over the course of that season and there is a lot of racing and action, even some appearances by actual drivers of the time. I don’t think a film since has got close to what its actually like in the pits or on the track and I waited YEARS for this to be released on DVD, even going so far as to emailing MGM Studios to ask why it had not. A must for every sports fan I think, even if you are not a huge fan of F1.

So please post up films that you like or have seen that feature sports, and remember to visit other people’s blogs at the same time. Thanks for reading.

