Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

Welcome along to another Tuesday Tunes. Each week I will post up a new subject involving music and all you have to do is post a comment in my blog or if you have your own blog, link back to my blog. I hope you enjoy it and join in. Leave your choices in the comments box below, thanks.

What’s On The Box?

A discussion on Facebook earlier this week reminded me of some great TV theme tunes. So tell us, what were your TV theme tunes? I was close to limiting this to just the 80s, but that would shut out the younger folks.

Personally I have to jump back to the 80s here. There are some truly great TV theme tunes, so many to list here so I shall go with 3 of my favourites. Firstly would have to be Magnum PI. It was a great show and of course everyone loved the car. The tune had you hooked though before enjoying an hour of Tom Selleck’s moustache. Lets relive it now. The show ran from 1980 until 1988.

Secondly today, is one of my favourite shows from the late 80s/early 90s, Quantum Leap. It was an excursion into science fiction television that hadn’t really been done successfully since The Twilight Zone and the additions of Scott Bakula and Dean Stockwell as main cast members certainly made the show a massive hit on both sides of The Atlantic. Do we really know what happened in the end though? Its still very confusing.

My last choice (I better make it my last otherwise this blog post will go on forever) is my favourite TV Theme tune of all time – Airwolf. I just love this kind of music and unlike my previous two choices, the theme wasn’t written by Mike Post. Airwolf’s very catchy intro music was written by Sylvester Levay and will be a memory from my childhood forevermore. As soon as you hear the high pitched whine of the helicopter’s rotors, you know what the show is. Immediately identifiable is what a TV show should be and Airwolf was definitely that.

So come on then, lets have your favourites. Post your comments in here and remember to visit other blogs of people taking part. Thanks for reading.

