Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

Welcome along to Monday’s Movie Meme. This week it is my turn, following on from the great topic from last week chosen and hosted by Nicole at The Madlab Post, to post up a new subject involving movies and all you have to do is answer the question, post a comment in my blog or if you have your own blog, link back to my blog. I hope you enjoy it and join in. Leave your choices in the comments box below, thanks. Remember and visit other blogs =)

The City’s The Place

The topic of this weeks discussion is movies that contain the name of a city in its title. Pretty simple really, but can you come up with some good ones? Lets see shall we?

For me, one of my favourite movies has to a modern Western classic – Tombstone. A tremendous story that has been told a thousand times but I still think this is the best interpretation of the legend that was Wyatt Earp. Played by Kurt Russell, Earp and his brothers settle in the city of Tombstone. After becoming very successful,. they proceed to eradicate the town of the scourge of the cowboys led by Curly Bill Brocius (Powers Boothe). What I like most about this movie is the truly outstanding performance from Val Kilmer as Doc Holliday which I personally consider to be the best he has ever done. If you haven’t seen this movie, make sure you do.

Secondly today, is a film that has one of the best cast ensembles in modern Hollywood history. Guy Pierce, Kevin Spacey, Russell Crowe, James Cromwell, Kim Basinger and Danny DeVito. L.A Confidential is the story of a shooting in a restaurant that is investigated by three L.A policemen who do things in completely different ways to get the desired results. A true modern classic that earned Kim Bassinger an Oscar for Best Supporting Actress. Admittedly, its been some time since I saw this movie, but I might have to have yet another look at it. Enjoy the trailer.

So please post up films that you like or have seen that feature city names in their titles. And remember to visit other people’s blogs at the same time. Thanks for reading.

