Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Welcome along to another Tuesday Tunes. Each week I will post up a new subject involving music and all you have to do is post a comment in my blog or if you have your own blog, link back to my blog. I hope you enjoy it and join in. Leave your choices in the comments box below, thanks.

With The Sound Of Music” – An easy one this week. Quite simply, what is your favourite song from a musical. It could be something from The Sound Of Music, as my title suggests, or perhaps something more modern from We Will Rock You. The choice is up to you. Rock operas are obviously included here and it can be from stage OR screen.

I have a couple of particular favourites. I’m a massive fan of musicals, but I have seen a few and one of my most loved tracks is from the musical Chess which features music written by Bjorn Ulvaeus and Benny Andersson from ABBA and lyrics by Tim Rice. The track in question here is “One Night In Bangkok“, performed by Murray Head, the probably lesser known brother of the Nescafe Gold Blend adverts star Anthony Stewart Head. Its just something that you perhaps wouldn’t normally associate with a West End musical in its style and the initial build up to the song is great. I particularly like Steve Vai’s version of the intro, but here is the terrific original.

Secondly today is a track from one of my favourite rock operas, War Of The Worlds. The Jeff Wayne version of this classic HG Wells story is a true masterpiece and will be remembered in the music world for all time. The track I have chosen is “Forever Autumn” performed by Justin Hayward of The Moody Blues. It is a really nice song quite integral to the story in War Of The Worlds and Hayward’s voice suits it perfectly. Brilliant sung and is always a highlight while listening to the entire musical. I hope you enjoy it as much as I do.

So jump in folks and remember to link back and check out other blogs. Thanks for reading and taking part.

