I finally got around to seeing this movie last night. I’ve had it in my possession for a little while but have never been in the mood to watch it until now; possibly due to the disappointment of the last one, so anyway heres my review of The Pirates Of The Caribbean – On Stranger Tides, the fourth in hugely popular movie franchise.

Johnny Depp returns as the dithering yet strangely ingenious Jack Sparrow, sorry Captain Jack Sparrow, once again. This time without his sidekicks Orlando Bloom and Keira Knightly. I think that storyline had run its course and had become tiresome. A good move in my opinion. Instead, playing opposite Depp this time around is Penelope Cruz who plays the part of Angelica Malon who claims to be the daughter of the famous and feared pirate Blackbeard, played here by the brilliant Ian McShane. There are also appearances from Geoffrey Rush once more and Captain Barbosa and a small cameo by Keith Richards as Jack’s dad. A very good cast once again I’m sure you’ll agree.

At the end of the third film, we left Jack Sparrow about to head off in search for The Fountain Of Youth with the stolen part of the map he took from Barbosa after being stranded. This movie is a continuation of that story arc, but is much less confusing than At World’s End was. It focusses on one single storyline and it progresses smoothly and with plenty action. Jack has his usual way of getting out of situations – half planned, half luck but its all very entertaining. What I would say is that it was a little too long for my liking. Coming in a 2 hours and 16 minutes, I did find myself becoming uncomfortable sitting, even in my own house and it could have been cut down a little more.

The special effects are again very good and well presented. There are a couple of very obvious computer animations that could and should have been done with the real thing or an animatronic, but I guess with a film that has a budget in the region of £250M (which is hasn’t made back yet) you can do pretty much what you want. The money will be made back over time but it certainly hasn’t been as successful as other movies in the series and I think that can be attributed to the disappointment of the third film and because of that some trepidation about going to see this latest effort.

All in all though, I was entertained and liked it much better than number three and therefore I give Pirates Of The Caribbean – On Stranger Tides a good 7/10 and would say its worth seeing with the kids for a movie night with some popcorn and nachos. Heres the trailer.

