Well, an update on a few things today, Chelsea, some transfers, some news and my thoughts on what might happen in the next few weeks before the season begins again.

Firstly to my beloved Chelsea. The pre-season tour has been very successful with a good bunch of wins in Malaysia and a 2-0 win over Aston Villa. We still have to play Rangers on Saturday, but following their exit from the Champions League (already hahahaha) I can’t see there being much resistance there. John Terry has stated that he has been impressed with how new manager Andre Villas-Boas is handling the club and I think that he is going to bring a fresh new look to Chelsea this season. A new approach if you like. This is something I welcome and I think that he is the sort of manager that is going to give the likes of Daniel Sturridge (whom I rate very highly) a run in the first team this season. Add that to the new signing that we made yesterday of Oriol Romeu from Barcelona for a fee thats understood to be in the region of £4.5M. A decent acquisition and seems to fit with Boas’ new ethos at Stamford Bridge. Romeu should provide some extra cover following the injury to Michael Essien.

Things have gone quiet on the Wesley Sneijder front with the last news being that he would have to lower his wage demands to secure a move to Manchester United. I don’t think this deal will ever happen now, just like the Modric deal to Chelsea. There is far too much hype surround the pair of them now and its getting boring. I was annoyed that Sergio Aguero joined Manchester City though, I think he would have been perfect for Chelsea and he could have been another Zola at the club. Small, agile and a natural finisher. I predict he will do great things this season.

This season is going to be an interesting one for sure. Are Arsenal going to improve? Is this the last season for Arsene Wenger? Will Manchester City make a title challenge? Can Chelsea drag themselves out of last season’s doldrums and give Manchester United a decent scrap this year? So many questions and no answers.

Finally today, I will be taking part in The Telegraph’s Fantasy Football competition again this year as I do every season and will hope to improve on last year’s poor effort. I never seem to get lucky at the start and its then already over, so if anyone has any good tips for my team, post a comment. I am working on my provisional teams at the moment and can still alter them before the start of the season. Happy Friday everyone!

