Tags

, , , , ,

Welcome along to another Tuesday Tunes, this one written in advance because I’m so busy at work… each week I will post up a new subject involving music and all you have to do is post a comment in my blog or if you have your own blog, link back to my blog. I hope you enjoy it and join in. Leave your choices in the comments box below, thanks.

Cover Me!

No not a 70s cop show catchphrase, but are there any cover versions of songs that you think are better than the original? This can be a touchy subject with some music lovers who believe that no cover is ever better than the original. Me on the other hand?, well I’m of the opinion that if its good enough for me to like, then I reckon it has a shot of beating the original. Where to start then…

First up, is Metallica covering a rock classic: “Whiskey In The Jar” by Thin Lizzy. Now don’t get me wrong, this is one of those “I love this song loads, but I love the cover better” moments. I’m a fan of Thin Lizzy’s stuff and first heard Metallica’s cover of the Irish ditty on their “Garage Inc.” album of punk and rock covers and have to say that I was blown away at how good it was. Much more meaty and solid with excellent vocals. Its a no nonsense take on what is essentially a folk song. See what you think..

Second on my list is Muse covering Nina Simone’s cover version of a song that appeared in the musical The Roar of the Greasepaint – The Smell of the Crowd, “Feeling Good“. Everyone knows Nina Simone’s version right? Its probably one of the most well know songs and vocal performances of the 20th century. Muse’s take on the track really utilised Matthew Bellamy’s incredible voice and the way he blends into guitar sounds is very unusual. I never tire of hearing this song and although it has been covered by many, many artists, this version is still my favourite.

Next is an unusual one, I heard this version on the radio one early morning and thought I’d share it with you now. The Leningrad Cowboys is a Finnish rock band who make use of the talents of the Russian Red Army Choir in their live shows and indeed on the studio recordings. The music is a mix of male voice choir and country with some rock/pop thrown in, and here they are covering ZZ Top’sGimme All Your Lovin‘” Is very different but pretty entertaining and I put it in this list to show you some of the diversity in my musical tastes. Funnily enough, they have also covered Whiskey In The Jar…

So lets have your favourite cover versions =)

