A while since I did a new movie review, so here is my verdict on the latest in the X-Men series, X-Men First Class. This is a trailer I saw quite some time ago and I have been anticipating this movie ever since. The story is all about the beginnings of the X-Men and the relationships that are formed, and broken between the main characters amid saving the world from the Cuban Missile Crisis in the early 1960s.

The film is bulging with acting prowess. James McAvoy plays the young Charles Xavier (Professor X) who, with the help of his adopted sister Raven, better known as Mystique played by Jennifer Lawrence, and Erik Lensherr (Michael Fassbender), gather together a small group of mutants to prevent World War III being brought about by an evil former Nazi Sebastian Shaw who has secrets of his own. Shaw is brilliantly played by the now legendary Kevin Bacon.

As I said at the start of this review, I have been looking forward to this movie for quite some time and I was not disappointed. The previous X-Men films from The Last Stand and Wolverine-Origins were simply terrible following the departure of Bryan Singer from the project, but now he is back as a story writer here and it certainly shows. This movie is equal is quality to the original film and this is one I have to recommend to fans of that first movie. The story all fits with the exception of Mystique in an X-Men uniform which of course never happened in the comics, but that can be forgiven this once, her true calling will become apparent.

I give this movie an excellent 9/10 and I hope there will be another installment of this rebooted X-Men series in the near future. Meanwhile, enjoy this trailer:

