After last week’s science fiction installment of Cinema Saturday, I thought I would have a complete change of genre today and bring you my review of the brand new movie from Disney Pixar, Cars 2.

I previewed this a few weeks ago and was really looking forward to it after seeing the trailers and clips from the movie. I saw the finished work last night and I was not disappointed. With many of the original cast returning such as Owen Wilson as Lightning McQueen and the brilliant Larry the Cable Guy as Mater, I knew that it wasn’t going to be a let down. On top of the two main actors, we also had the voice talents of legend Michael Caine as Finn McMissile and a huge number of cameo appearances just as was in the first movie. Its been a few years coming though, the original Cars was 2005, but I think it has been worth the wait.

Lightning has now won 4 Piston Cups and is returning to Radiator Springs to visit all his friends. He is invited to take part in a World Grand Prix series against some of the champion cars from all around the world and he takes Mater with him. Mater will have an interesting adventure of his own and gets caught up in an international spy game. I was initially unsure of the spy angle to the film when I saw the trailer, but the idea certainly grew on me and it seemed a little like a feature length Mater Tale film. Nothing wrong with that at all though.

The animation here is of course first rate and once again the Disney Pixar combination blows us away with water, reflections and explosions that are equal in quality to the real thing. The standard of computer generated graphics just keeps getting better. The look of the film is similar to the original movie, and there are many things that you can notice as an adult that a child would not. My 2 and a half year old watched it today and was completely engrossed from start to finish. There is plenty of action and fun for all ages and I definitely recommend this movie for fans of the original and also the likes of Toy Story and Monsters Inc.

The story is very good and keeps you interested. The James Bondesque plotline is fun enough for the adults aswell and Larry the Cable Guy just oozes comedy talent. According to IMDB, the official budget for this movie was a staggering $200M!! Thats crazy money, its been out in the cinemas for just less than a week and its already taken $66M, so I think it’ll make the money back very soon. There is of course all the merchandising that goes along with a film like this and the kids will just want it all! I recommend the movie and give it a well deserved 7/10. Enjoy the trailer.

