Over at The Bumbles Blog, they host a weekly movie meme on Mondays that I like to participate in. Each week we discuss a different theme and this week for Sandy‘s last choice of theme this month is “Epic Battle Scenes”

After the “depressing theme” of last week, I find this one right up my street. The problem is where to start. Molly has taken one of my would be choices and I will actually use it, but in another form.

The Lord Of The Rings is a fantastic story and has some of the biggest and most exciting battle scenes within its pages, here though as we are discussing movies, I will choose The Battle Of Helms Deep, but from the 1978 animated version of the JRR Tolkien classic directed by Ralph Bakshi. The stunning animation and build of this battle are just brilliant. It was the first time I think I’d ever seen blood in a cartoon aswell. The video actually comes in two parts here, but I’ll post up the first half of the battle.

Secondly, I will mention one of my favourite graphic novel adaptations – 300. The original book by Frank Millar is visually very stunning and the producers of the 2006 action film managed to keep the look of the graphic novel superbly on the big screen. Gerard Butler was really good in this movie and I think he makes the film much more epic with his booming voice, big beard and large weapon…

Next up is a movie I watched just the other week for the first time. Oldboy is a Korean movie from 2003. (You’ll find my review in my movies section) and although not dubbed into English, the story is superb and I had to include this battle sequence here. Not often in a movie do you see one guy take on many thugs in a dark corridor armed with just one ball-peen hammer. If you ever get the chance to see this movie, please do so.

The Empire Strikes Back is one of my favourite ever films. Not just because of its dark overtones, but also the dramatic fight scenes, and I don’t think any epic battle list could be complete without including the battle between Darth Vader and his son Luke Skywalker towards the end of the movie. This was far better than the scenes between Obi-Wan and Anakin in the “new” movie. Perhaps purely because it is Darth Vader, possibly one of the best bad guys to have ever graced the silver screen. And he taught me how to cross the road! (for those in America reading this, look up The Green Cross Code Man.) Lets enjoy this once more, and then again and again and again.

Finally today, I’d like to leave you with an epic battle that is slightly different. From the movie A Few Good Men which is my favourite movie of all time, the final courtroom scene between lawyer Daniel Kaffee (Tom Cruise) and Colonel Nathan Jessep (Jack Nicholson) is some of the best writing in any movie I have seen. Aaron Sorkin is a master penman and the way Kaffee hammers away at the Colonel is simply brilliant to watch. Once he jumps off the cliff and decides to go for it, there is no stopping him until the only way out of the onslaught is for Jessep to say what he has wanted to say all along. There were two takes of this scene done during filming, a quick run through and the final take, this is acting talent in my humble opinion…

Please visit The Bumbles Blog and post your comments or choices and visit the other bloggers aswell. Thanks for stopping by and reading.

