A comedy review here for a change. I do watch a funny film from time to time and someone at work had mentioned this a couple of days ago and I decided to watch it tonight. The film stars Will Ferrell – who also wrote the movie – as Ron Burgundy, a TV News anchorman who lives in a world that is run by men for men. Women have no professional stature to speak of and when a talented reporter named Veronica Corningstone (Christina Applegate) arrived at Channel 4 News, Ron knows he has his work cut out to stay on top in a cutthroat late 70s television network world.

There is a wealth of comedy talent on show here with appearances by Paul Rudd, Steve Carell, and cameos from the likes of Ben Stiller, Danny Trujo, Vince Vaughn, Seth Rogen and Luke Wilson. I like the fact that there is no-one trying to take all the limelight here as opposed to the characters in the film. The success of the movie helped propel a few names into the big time, none more so than Steve Carell. His rise to stardom since the release of this movie has been meteoric and he has perhaps eclipsed Will Ferrell somewhat.

I expected the movie to be a lot funnier, but true to Ferrell form, there are some really funny parts and then other parts that are just silly and a poor attempt to get a cheap laugh. I always find his work hit or miss, and find him a lot more miss than hit. His cameo roles do much better for me than his starring ones and I think he should stick to that format. It was an hour and a half that I could easily forget and its not a movie I will probably watch again. I’ll give it 5/10. Heres the trailer:

