Welcome to the first meme hosted by myself and I thought it would be a good idea to give it a go and see it takes off. The premise is very simple, each week I will post up a new subject involving music and all you have to do is post a comment in my blog or if you have your own blog, link back to my blog. I hope you enjoy it and we’ll get straight on with the first meme.

The First Of Many

I was born in the mid 70’s, but grew up in the 80’s. This was a great time for music, particularly in the UK with many British acts making it big in America. What I’m asking today is – what was the first music single you bought? Now this could be a CD if you’re young enough, or a cassette if you’re lame enough or if you’re old enough like me, the faithful 7″ vinyl. Of course if you’re even older than that I’ll accept 78s.

For me though it was the year 1981 and I took my weekly trip to Woolworths with my mum. I was 7 years old. Maybe it was a pirate phase I was going through, or maybe I liked the “look” they had, but Adam & The Ants were the next big thing and were pretty much everywhere. I think I saw the video on Swap Shop or Tiswas, but their single “Stand & Deliver” by was the first ever single I bought. I don’t even remember how much it was but I loved the song and still do. Sadly Stuart Goddard (Adam Ant) has fallen on harder times since those good old days, but I look back fondly on those trips to Woolworths and the single I bought.

So what was the first single you bought? Happy posting and thanks for stopping by. On a more sombre note…

Clarence Anicholas Clemens Jr.
January 11, 1942 – June 18, 2011

