14 Days Until The Final

So we are now just 2 weeks away from the big night and its now time to give you 3 of the Big 5 songs. The “Big 5” refers to the major financial backers of the Eurovision Song Contest – Spain, Germany, France, UK and this year also Italy due to Germany being the host.

So we’ll crack on with Spain’s entry. Lucia Perez sings “Que Me Quiten Lo Bailao”.

Shes not best live singer in the world and I find this to be typical hispanic pop. Repetitive and dull with lots of fill in “woahs” and “lalalalas”. I just don’t see this setting Europe on fire on the 14th and had it been in a semi final, I don’t think it would have qualified. Thankfully for Spain, that is irrelevant.

Next today is France and the bookies favourite for the contest. An unlikely Eurovision winner perhaps, but typically French in their song choice. Amaury Vassili belts out “Sognu”.

Now I’m not denying that this chap can sing; he certainly can, but I just don’t see why this has been installed as a clear favourite to win. All bookies are putting it streets ahead of the rest of Europe. I described it as Michael Ball singing “Bolero”. It appears to be the only operatic song of the night and personally I don’t like it and hope that something more “Eurovision” wins.

One more today and we shall visit last year’s winner and this year’s hosts – Germany. Lena makes it two years in a row representing her country and she will be hoping to repeat the success of “Satellite”. This year she gives us an eerie track called “Taken By A Stranger”.

This is one of those songs that you don’t really like on first hearing, but it grows on you. I think its a bit of a mix of Kate Nash and Sam Sparro. I personally think its a better song that her winning entry last year, but I don’t think it will win, there are better songs than this in the competition, but I still like this one all the same.

In the next update I shall finish off the entries for the contest and make a few remarks about what I see qualifying and what is going to bomb.

